Charged With A Sex Crime? You Need A Skilled, Decisive Defense Attorney.
Do not wait until you are arrested for a sex crime. Do not try to talk your way out of it. Do not talk to the police—or to anyone—about your charges. As soon as you are aware of an investigation and impending criminal charges, it is critical that you contact an experienced, knowledgeable sex crimes defense attorney. By retaining a skilled lawyer as soon as possible, you give yourself the best chance at mounting a successful defense. A good criminal defense attorney will immediately begin interviewing those involved in the incident, considering the use of polygraphs, subpoenaing crucial evidence, and challenging any violations of your rights that may have occurred. These steps, when taken at an early stage, can make the difference between an acquittal and a conviction.
Do not gamble with your future. Take action immediately with the assistance of our attorneys at Foley & Wilson Law Firm. We have offices in Fort Myers and Naples, and we serve clients throughout Lee and Collier counties.
Common Sex Offenses Charged In Florida
A sex crime conviction will change your life forever. If you are facing prison, sex offender probation, and sex offender registration, hiring an experienced sex crimes lawyer may be the most important decision you make. Not all criminal defense lawyers have extensive experience in defending sex crimes, but ours do. We are ready to defend you against a wide variety of charges, including:
Sexual battery (rape): This occurs when someone engages in nonconsensual penetration (whether vaginal, anal or oral) of another person using a sexual organ, another body part or object. Medical procedures are not included in this definition. The charges and related consequences depend on factors like the age of the victim, use of a weapon and whether the victim had a physical or mental disability. A conviction can result in years to life in prison, and it can even be a capital offense.
Lewd and Lascivious Molestation: Per Florida Statutes § 800.04(5), this crime—sometimes referred to as child molestation—is committed when a person intentionally touches the breasts, genitals, or buttocks of a child younger than 16 in a lewd or lascivious manner. The offense is also committed when a person encourages, forces, or entices a child younger than 16 to touch another person in a lewd or lascivious manner.
Child Pornography: Florida Statutes § 847.001(3) defines child pornography as any image depicting a minor engaged in sexual conduct. Possessing, distributing, transmitting, and manufacturing child pornography is all illegal in the state of Florida, and all of these acts are felonies covered by Florida Statutes §§ 847.0135, 847.0138, and 827.071.
Statutory Rape: The age of consent is the legally recognized age at which an individual is believed capable of making decisions regarding sexual activity. In Florida, the age of consent is 18. Per Florida Statutes § 794.05, a person 24 years of age or older who engages in sexual activity with someone who is 16 or 17 years old commits a second-degree felony.
Traveling to Meet a Minor: Per Florida Statutes § 847.0135, traveling to engage in unlawful sexual conduct with a child is a second-degree felony. The severity of this offense requires a judge to enforce a 21-month minimum prison sentence. Maximum penalties can include 15 years in prison, 15 years’ probation, and $10,000 in fines as well as sex offender registration.
Indecent Exposure: Florida Statutes § 800.03 makes it unlawful for a person to expose his or her sexual organs in a vulgar or indecent manner while in public, on somebody else’s private premises, or anywhere where the person can be seen from such private premises. This statute also makes it unlawful to be naked in public except in a place that is intended for that purpose. This offense is generally a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail. However, a similar offense committed in the presence of a child can lead to felony charges. For example, under Florida Statutes § 800.04(7), if a person 18 years of age or older commits lewd or lascivious exhibition in the presence of a child younger than 16 years of age, the crime is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: Under Florida law, persons convicted of qualifying sexual offenses are required to register at their local sheriff’s office once they establish any permanent, temporary, or transient residence. Qualifying offenses include rape, sexual assault, and child molestation. The complete list of registration requirements is found in Florida Statutes §§ 775.21 and 943.0435. Failure to register as a sex offender is a criminal offense, generally classified as a third-degree felony and punishable by 5 years in prison. Under some circumstances, failure to register may even be considered a second-degree felony, punishable by 15 years in prison.
Solicitation of Prostitution: Under Florida Statutes § 796.07(2)(f), a person commits the crime of soliciting prostitution when he or she solicits, induces, entices, or procures another person to make an appointment for sex or to engage in prostitution or lewdness. A first solicitation offense is a first-degree misdemeanor in the state of Florida. A second offense is a third-degree felony.
Contact Us Right Away To Discuss Your Case
At Foley & Wilson Law Firm, we offer free initial consultations to all prospective clients, and we take your rights and freedom as seriously as you do. To speak to one of our experienced attorneys in a confidential consultation, call us in Fort Myers or Naples at 239-690-6080 or message us online. We serve clients throughout Lee and Collier counties.